Until we meet again.

Have you ever had a perfect weekend with dear friends? Last weekend I had that exact pleasure. We brunched, coffee-ed, tea-ed, snacked, and chatted our way through two blissful, chilly days. Best of all we witnessed Lorena marry Tim in Winnipeg, a true destination wedding. 

In all of this it made me think back to the days of St. Mary’s and St. John Brebeuf where we imaged, hoped, dreamed, disagreed with and loved each other. I can still see that playground in Chilliwack behind the gym before the big renovation and imagine those funny portable hut’s that looked onto our school field.

At recess we played and played and learned new things using our creativity to tell stories and build our dreams. But the novelty of child-like fun faded away and by the tender age of 10 we walked around in ‘posses’ thinking we were cool. This attitude followed us onto the bus and down highway 1 to Abbotsford for 5 years as we navigated the High School curriculum. We also navigated our way around or through friendships. In the process we had a lot of fun but we also started to ask big questions of existence and faith as we faced problems that we hadn’t accounted for in our child-like dreams. Eventually we lessened in our desire to be ‘posse cool’ which was a relief to many.

At long last we graduated, leaving our safe haven. Some sauntered out, others ran like the dickens. We managed to keep in touch through brunches in our early University years thanks to our former teacher, Heidi. Now we’re spread out in all corners of Canada from the West Coast to Toronto. Instead of brunches, we now have weddings to keep the flame of friendship alive.

I’m extremely grateful for this.

Last weekend I was specifically grateful for our collective ability to seize the moment and dance like it was 2005.

Except that’s not totally true because we’re better at it now.

Taking a break from dancing.

Taking a break from dancing.

One of the greatest advantages of having exceeded high school by 9 years is that you don’t have to pretend you know how to dance because you do know how to dance.

I give any dancing confidence credit that I’ve gained partially to Robbie for he is the Master of having no shame on the dance floor. He has a sort of abandon that seems to defy gravity, logic, and the agility of his muscles. It’s like he has spring loaded hips and knees. It is quite the spectacle and impossible to describe properly. It is a must-see in your lifetime. I really mean this.

It has inspired me to find my own way on the dance floor and stop worrying about what my arms are doing and instead to just go ahead and do something with them.

Now I can lose my mind when a boy band comes on and sing every… single… word. I can “throw [my] hands up in the air” and further “wave them around like [I] just don’t care.” I can give ‘er big river when Gold Digger comes on and pretend I know how to ‘get down’ even if my knees won’t let me fully commit.

I can move from song to song, reliving the best of my past with those who were there with me in the first place.  This was not just theory last weekend, but reality.

But best of all was when the Elephant Love Medley was played from the film Moulin Rouge. We each know this one off by heart, both the male and female parts and are capable of performing each role flawlessly.

We had the inspiration to lift the beloved bride Lorena up in the air while we sang “Love lifts us up where we belong. Where eagles fly, on a mountain high” (Of course this moment was brought to you partially by the majestic inspiration of Eagles).

Pure abandon.

Pure abandon.

We had quite the warm reception from the remaining guests. There was a round of applause and cheering once the song had ended. And a tradition was born.

A tradition and memory to add to heap of others.

I can’t help but think back and consider that in all that time we had before, through all those growing pains, bad skin, and awful fashion developments (can I remind you of visors) that something remarkable was happening. Maybe, just maybe this was all intentional? Maybe it was divine intervention all along?

We now witness each other as adults, as more than just a product of our education and families. We are the sum of that very foundation multiplied by what we have done with those great gifts.

I am thankful for these girls, nay women, who have crept and marched beside me in various times and seasons since I was a little girl. I am thankful for Catherine, Danielle, Lorena, Sancha, Sarah, Zoe and many others (in alphabetical order just to prove our education really did work).

A reunion at Stella's.

A reunion at Stella’s.

I tip my hat to each of you. You are remarkable people with even more remarkable futures. I thank you for your patience as I’ve grown up often overlooking the impact you’ve had on me. I thank you for a perfect weekend free of cares and full of joy as I reveled in days gone by.

“And until we meet again, May God hold you in the palm of his hand.”

I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

