Evidence of aging

As of today, Saturday March 3rd 2012, I have been alive for 8904 days. Recently I’ve been thinking about age and how although I am young, I somehow manage to feel very old. Perhaps this affliction comes from my chosen profession of teaching. I will always be the oldest person in the room when teaching. Now this is a good thing in terms of authority and wisdom, but it is not always good for the ego.

The other day I was having difficulty with the SMART Board in my Socials classroom. We had just finished watching a video clip and I wanted to turn the projector off. This particular SMART Board set up was much more fancy then I’m used to. I couldn’t find a remote to turn it off so I attempted to locate the button on the actual projector. This apparent improper approach caught the attention of many of the students who began exclaiming to me,“You turn it off below. Look below Mrs. de Fleuriot. Look down, its right there.” In my primitive lack of technological wisdom I had managed to miss the obvious rather large OFF button. It was then that I heard one of the kids say “Look, we’re helping old people use technology.” So I guess I’m not the only one who is thinking along these lines.

Further evidence of my aging is as follows

1. I now choose to eat asparagus for dinner. I remember watching my mother eat this skinny seemingly disgusting vegetable when I was a kid. None of us kids really liked asparagus. Perhaps this was a mob mentality issue because I don’t actually remember giving asparagus a try. Looking back on it I’m sure Mom was happy that there was something in the fridge that the kids wouldn’t touch. I now look forward to the days of discovering which foods my kids won’t eat, but I still can enjoy free of the threat of it being gobbled up before I can have my share. We’ve been going through quite an asparagus kick lately. The texture is actually quite pleasing to the palette. I even tried pickled asparagus a few weekends ago. It was delicious.

2. I live in a retirement community. The Wikipedia page on Camrose states the following, “Camrose offers a relaxed lifestyle with a large population of retirees.” While I am decades from retirement, I often wonder if this ‘large population of retirees’ is gradually slowing me down. We do seem to fit right in here. Hmmm….

3. I take pills with my dinner. When I say pills I guess I mean vitamins, which might be just as age indicative. Currently, I need Vitamin C to keep the common cold at bay and Vitamin D to keep my bones strong. After all I currently have 3 slightly chipped teeth. Enough said.

4. I have the same thing for breakfast every morning in the form of a fruit smoothie. I’m already replacing one of my meals with an easy to digest liquid. I love the consistency of this in both senses of the word; the regularity of having the same meal every day and the literal consistency of the smoothie.

5. I tuck my shirt in on a regular basis. I do this for 2 reasons. Firstly, its practical and honestly I like to avoid any unwanted crack exposure. Secondly, I think it looks pretty snazzy and sharp. I feel quite smart with my shirt tucked in these days. So you might ask ‘What is the big deal with tucking in your shirt?’ As a child and then as an adolescent I spent all 13 of my Catholic School years avoiding the painful ordeal of tucking in my shirt. Consequently I would receive detentions for this improper upper body attire. I remember thinking as a grade 12 student that I would never, ever in a million years intentionally tuck in my shirt. The idea was simply inconceivable. So much for teenage commitments. Its kind of like when I left St. Mary’s in grade 7 and promised myself I would never wear navy blue again, the color of our uniform shorts, jumpers, pants, sweaters, and kilts. As I write this, I’m wearing navy blue jeans, a navy blue sweater, and navy blue slippers. So much for 12 year old commitments.

I think this pretty much rests my case. Or perhaps I’m just overreacting to that intentionally silly comment by a well meaning student.

I could go either way on this one. Maybe I’ll just take a nap instead.

Ain't that the truth

3 thoughts on “Evidence of aging

  1. The fears of aging. A few more age tests that you can do at school.

    1) Show your students a picture of a teenage mutant ninja turtle. They cannot name it.

    2) Ask your students if they have ever experienced, or could even imagine a world without internet.

    3) Recollect that in a few years, we will be teaching students that were born in a different MILLENIUM than us.

    4) Ask your students where they were when 9/11 happened (if they say they had to miss daycare, then go home and have something strong to drink).

    Once again Laura, really fun to read this! When can we start teaching the same school?

  2. This was…amazing. Yes, I can relate to a few of these points! Thank you for making me laugh inside this afternoon (: I love you!

  3. OH Laura tell me we are not old yet…I’m glad I’m not the only one with the chipped teeth! I started taking in a lot more calcium when I noticed them… maybe vitamin D is a go. 🙂

Leave a Reply

