Grateful to be here

There is something remarkable aboout being able to write the thoughts that stick with you the most down and have them read by the people you love and care about. My last post was something that I was very tentative to write because I didn’t want to mistep in any way. After all I was writing in part about people that I haven’t met. I wasn’t sure how to convey the intense feelings of connection and love that I experienced on November 11th, but somehow I was able to do so. For this I am grateful.

I am grateful that in this techno savy world that we live in the positive outcome of all this human innovation has in part been greater human connectivity. It really helps me being away from home. I feel that if I can see a status update by my Mom or read the thread of messages started by Jenny about the upcoming Christmas events that I will be missing or get a text message from my Dad with attached pictures of the growing piles of snow covering my beloved Chilliwack, then I am still somehow part of my family’s day to day life. This is incredibly important to me. This nostalgia for home is not just a phase I realize, but now it is a reality of how I live. Thank goodness for all the little ways that we can still be a part of each others lives.

Nanny and Papa on their wedding day in Medicine Hat

I often think about my paternal Grandparents and how they moved to the prairies soon after they were married. Actually their eldest child, my Auntie Mary was born in Camrose when my Papa was stationed here with the Canadian Pacific Railway. I can only imagine the anguish of having to wait so long to have contact with family. I think of Nanny a newlywed and then a new mother making it through those cold winter days that I know all to well with no mother, father, sister, or brother to feel geographically close to. I know for myself that I would suffer through these years away from home if it were not for the gift of our advanced and connected technology.

All this to say, I have been incredibly blessed by the response towards my last entry. I have heard from many of the de Fleuriots and Brophys and it has warmed my heart in this cold, cold weather. It has also made me miss my dear immediate family. There isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t think of those goofy and intelligent people.

And on a celebratory note, my little blog has reached 1,000 views since it’s wordpress.com conception. Although I am no Nienie Dialogues or C. Jane run (two of my favorite Mormon mommy bloggers who are sisters coincidentally… come on Jenny we can do it!) who get 1,000’s of views every day, I am incredibly thankful that people sometimes like to read what I have to say. It is every youngest childs dream.

And so I leave you with a gem from St. Catherine of Sienna that is sticking out to me in a particular way today.

“Be who God meant you to be and you will set the world ablaze.”

20111122-194715.jpg

2 thoughts on “Grateful to be here

  1. 1001! just found out you have a blog! love it! many warm(literally, we had a crazy windy chinook today) hugs and greetings from calgary. God Bless and hope to see you soon! anna

    • So lovely to have you here Anna. I do miss those warm windy days. I think we got a bit of it but we certainly weren’t hitting 11 degrees or so like I saw on the weather network. Anyways, we hope to see everyone soon! Thanks again for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

